Board gaming is almost a full time job atm.

Genghis charged!

The Djengis Con came and went. It was a huge success again. Got to try some new games, and meet new interesting people. Even ordered one of them to the collection – Sagrada. Building glass windows in the world famous church.

Life sometimes surprises you

Sagrada
The beautiful glass windows

You know the feeling where life has ugly surprises, or you experience something that just drains all your energy? That has been my life. Do to take this as complaining over things, it has just been a bumpy ride.

Then I got an email from a very large international NGO. They had heard about my board gaming events, and volunteer work, and they wanted to me meet me to hear more. It will be this week, and I am looking forward to it.

It still surprises me that board games brings people together, and when you do something good it always come back. If you seek and share positivity life will reward you.

Do not know if you feel the same way? It has just always been the way I have experienced life. People who seek negativity will try and push it on people who are not negative, but positivity always wins.

So what is I do?

When doing the volunteer work with board games I always try to find games that fits the audience.

One example: Have played with people who suffered from Cancer and I brought games that had a positive twist, as sick people often isolate themselves I brought games that “forced” them to interact.

It works! They talk and share stories, they interact and have fun. I know that I cannot cure their disease, eliminate loneliness or solve all the issues people fight with. The few hours that they are “mine” they will however have a room filled with positivity, and if you have not tried to share your own interest in volunteer work I dare you to try – it is rewarding beyond belief.

Everyone has something to bring to the table

More than once when I have talked with both friends, or been a speaker at events people think that what I do is incredible (no self promotion intended), and I always tell them the same as written here “It is easy to participate, just bring your interest and passion and you will improve others lives”.

Share your story
Share, and get back tenfold

The reply always centers around them not having an interest as special as mine – trust me you do. It is not about the interest but the engagement and energy.

Recently a business connection took me on my word and asked me if I could connect him with an organization, because he wanted to assist with IT – which is an area where he excels. I did so, and he now offers his expertise and passion about IT to a large Danish NGO that could use some help in that area.

So please dear readers – share your passion, and let others benefit. If you can think of nothing contact me, and together we will make a difference.

Leave a Reply

